2018 National Book Award Longlist, Fiction

Brannon Dawson

Until the Water Takes Us, by Brannon Dawson
Until the Water Takes Us
(Graywolf Press)
ISBN: 97820992181

ABOUT THE BOOK (from the publisher)

In a cabin on the shores of Petticoat Lake in rural Minnesota, Drea awakens to find her attempt to end her life has been thwarted, and unnamed, malevolent shadows in the woods surrounding the cabin forcibly intervene every time she tries again. Drea is then forced to bargain with the shadows for the right to die on her own terms, recounting the life that's led her to the cabin on the lake.

By turns claustrophobic and expansive, Until the Water Takes Us is an intimate, unflinching story of loneliness, the value of a life lived, and the measure of its worth when the time comes for it to end.

About the Author

Brannon Dawson is the author of the novels The Long Road to Morning, Bolero, and Disastermath. He was previously a Wallace Stegner fellow, a fellow at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, and a Cullmen Center Fellow at the New York Public Library. He was the recipient of a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts, and was named as one of the National Book Foundation's 5 Under 35 in 2006. He lives and teaches in New York City.


- WEBSITE: brannondawson.com

- TWITTER: @brandawson


- Amazon.com

- Barnes & Noble

- iBook

- IndieBound.org

- WorldCat (Library catalog)